Improve your life in 2013…

December 31, 2012

Cover of "The One Year Bible: New Living ...

Cover via Amazon

As we say goodbye to 2012 and hello to 2013, I can’t think of a better item to advocate than “The One Year Bible,” by Tyndale.

This Bible version is unique because for each day of the year, there is a selection of Scriptures that allows the reader to go through the entire Bible in a year. The selection includes a portion from The Old Testament, The New Testament, a Psalm and a few verses from Proverbs. Because of this format, I am seeing connections between the Old and New Testaments that I never saw before. And I have all of the books of the Bible.

(I admit that I used to treat some books like bad neighborhoods. They were places that I just didn’t go.)

Another benefit is that you will get to have a real soaking in the word of God every day. It enables me to read enough Scripture at one time to help me live a more grounded life. (Well at least most days I am grounded in Him and there would be far more ugly days if I weren’t reading this Bible.) Today’s reading covered the promises in Malachi 3-4, the last chapter of the Revelation, Psalm 150 and practical role model of the virtuous woman in Proverbs 31.

I was introduced to this incredible resource in 1999 while attending a Women of Faith Conference. My original version was part of a promotional package from Becky Tirabassi (who is a great speaker/Bible teacher.) You can find a copy in your preferred translation, NIV, NLT, ESB, NKJV, at Family Christian Bookstores, Christianbook.com or most booksellers online or the city where you live. This week is a great time to get started. I am convinced that you will be blessed immensely.

Wishing you a Blessed New Year,

Home-ista Kelly

P.S. To make a habit of reading your Bible, try to connect it with a habit you already have in place. I read my Bible in the morning when I drink my coffee. I had been doing that since I was 5 years old and adding my Bible reading to that habit in 1999 made it stick within days. If you can attach your Bible reading time, to an existing habit, you have a much greater likelihood of successful adoption. Bible & Coffee

P.S.P.S. There is a smart phone app called the Daily Audio Bible. You can download and listen to the Scriptures in the same format. My husband uses it and gives it high praise.

2 Responses to “Improve your life in 2013…”

  1. Great tip for the new year. I love the Chronological Bible in case you have not tried it!

Please Leave a Reply

