Father’s Day Punch

June 18, 2012

It has been a long good day. I am grateful to God, for gracing me to marry a great dad for my children. Kenneth Vance Wilson, Sr., is doing big things with the arrows in his quiver.

Children are a gift from the Lord;
they are a reward from him.
Children born to a young man
are like arrows in a warrior’s hands.
How joyful is the man whose quiver is full of them!
He will not be put to shame when he confronts his accusers at the city gates.

Psalm 127:3-5

Today, we tried to show him how much he means to us, in a meaningful way. But I also believe in showing love in the little every day things. Like making my husband’s favorite punch recipe to enjoy with a bowl of popcorn during the basketball game or watching the next episode of America’s Got Talent.

Ingredients:

One 6oz can of Dole Pineapple Juice

1 and 2/3 Cups of Cranberry Juice*

1/4 Cup Sugar

Two 12oz cans of Sprite

(I usually keep can of frozen cranberry juice on hand. So I thaw the can in the microwave and use 1/3 of the concentrate plus 1 and 1/2 cups of cold water.)

Mix the first three ingredients together in a pitcher then add the soda slowly. The punch will have a cool purple fizz. It keeps overnight in the refrigerator just fine, but I suspect you won’t have any left.

Enjoy a glass with your family soon.

Home-ista Kelly

P.S. I am want to acknowledge my husband’s dad, and to honor the memories of my dad, Allen Tyrone Smith, Sr., my mom’s second husband Tommie Boyd, and our grandfathers who have all gone on to be with the Lord.

Please Leave a Reply

