Hallowed Home-ista

March 11, 2012

In the first post for this Blog, I described a home-ista as a person who uses her/his home to express her/his identity, affections and style. It’s similar to how a fashionista uses fashion.

That said, I am a home-ista and love being one, but I have a confession to make. Sometimes I get tired of the rarely ending demands of managing a busy and full household. There are moments when I am worn-out and just don’t feel like cooking the dinner, making my bed or cleaning the bathtub. There are even moments, though few, when I don’t have passion for decorating. Occasionally, I am singing a blues song called “I don’t want to rearrange my existing furniture – I want me some new furniture.”

And then, a few Saturdays ago, on a commercial break from watching Whitney Houston’s funeral service, I came across a passage of Scripture that I have seen dozens of times. But this time, it had new meaning.

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4 You know the way to the place where I am going.” John 14:1-4 NIV

If I take these verses at face value, Jesus, the Son of God, is currently in Heaven, preparing a place for His followers. Of course He is doing other things too, but in His own words, He is doing the things that home-istas do. Wow!

What an encouragement for me to realize that the things that seem so mundane, might be considered “Holy” or “Hallowed” when I do my homemaking activities with the right motive.

And if I add the following verse to this concept:

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Galatians 6:9 NIV

Then I can be assured that God will eventually reward me for blessing my loved ones (and self) with a “prepared” place.

Grace & Peace,

Home-ista Kelly

One Response to “Hallowed Home-ista”

  1. Angela Bailey said

    Thank you for sharing….after raising two sons, I got kind of slack/tired of cooking, cleaning, etc. Reading this reminded me of the joy I felt when my husband and kids would compliment me on taking care of ouur home. #GettingBackToWhat’sImportant

Please Leave a Reply

