Last minute Thanksgiving tips on cleaning, “cute” outfits and being a great guest…

November 23, 2011

It’s the final stretch for us home-istas as we prepare to visit or welcome loved ones into our homes. Every time I get to this point in the celebration I say to myself, “why did I think this would be a good idea? I’m tired, I’m overwhelmed, I can’t get everything done.” But God is always faithful and He tells me what to do, not do, and when our guests arrive and we are all having a great time, I confirm that it is worth the effort that goes into preparing the sustenance and establishing a place and where people can connect in a meaningful way.

Tips!

CLEANING – Felicia “Lady” Hawkins is the owner of Changing the Atmosphere (CTA) Cleaning Service. She is a dear friend and valuable resource. I asked her to give me her last minute tips on getting our homes ready for guests.

If time is too short for a deep clean, focus on the public areas. She says we can do a “light dusting in the living/family/dining rooms. She suggests using a Swiffer Duster on tables, shutters, blinds, or any surface where particles are visible. If there is clutter, I say grab a big laundry basket and place items there to be sorted on Friday or Saturday. (This will be a less expensive activity than a Black Friday spending spree.) After the dusting is complete, vacuum the carpet or rugs or damp mop wood floors with plain water.

Another must for Lady, is to clean the bathroom(s) that guest will use. Make the shiny surfaces sparkle with an all-purpose cleaner like Formula 409. Fabuloso is another good all-purpose cleaner and it smells great and really freshens toilet bowls, bathtubs, and tile floors.

Lastly, the kitchen needs to be clean for cooking in a safe and sanitary way and if it is open to other public areas – we need to cook in neat way – like we are on a TV Show. Clean the space as you go and put away items that are not in use at the moment to reduce visual clutter.

CUTE ATTIRE – I often say that Thanksgiving is like the “Superbowl” for home-istas. I believe that my “uniform” can help me play well. My goal is to look elegant still being comfortable so that I can get all of the last minute preparation done. I describe the outfit as something that is part “Jackie O dress” and part Nike workout gear.

I have found that a hip or waist length tunic (in a cotton or a nice blend) over slacks or modest yoga pants give me a good balance. I can move easily and still look nice and it is breathable so I don’t get too overheated. I especially love a patterned top over solid bottoms because spills are not so noticeable and the tunic and dressier yoga pants are fairly forgiving in case I eat a little too much. I do choose comfortable and stylish 1½ inch heels. I’m short and the day is better when I am 5 feet 1½ inches tall.

GREAT GUESTS – The best guests are people who are coming to enjoy the party and to help. My mom, sisters and sister-in-law’s are awesome. All are home-istas. When they come to visit, especially at Thanksgiving, each one pitches in to help me do whatever ever needs to be done. They corral kids, they set tables, they keep their eyes on the powder room and restock the TP and soap. They wash and dry dishes after dinner is finished. They tell me that the food is great and mean it. They bring a dish to share and label it so I know to whom the serving platter should be returned. They don’t take over, they support. They come to visit me, not to inspect the condition of our home. They laugh and smile. They have my back! Remember to be thankful for the great guest who come to your home or for being a great guest yourself.

Happy Thanksgiving – And may God be greatly praised during your celebration!

Home-ista Kelly

2 Responses to “Last minute Thanksgiving tips on cleaning, “cute” outfits and being a great guest…”

  1. I?m impressed, I have to say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that?s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you may have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the difficulty is one thing that not sufficient people are talking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Please Leave a Reply

